Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Top Secret / Sensitive Compartmented Information (TS/SCI) Clearance

Most TTS employees hold moderate risk Public Trust positions. However, for certain projects, partners need TTS employees to have access to classified national security information. These employees need to be granted security clearance eligibility (a.k.a a security clearance) to be able to view this information. This page covers the basics like clearance levels, your clearance status, your clearance obligations, and clearance upgrade requests.

Clearance Levels

There are three national security clearance levels: Confidential, Secret, and Top Secret. Work deemed Critical Sensitive requires a Top Secret clearance. Special Sensitive work requires access to Sensitive Compartmented Information and therefore a Top Secret / Sensitive Compartmented Information (TS/SCI) clearance. When TTS employees need a clearance, it is typically a TS/SCI.

*Note that according to the Department of Defense, Public Trust is a type of position, not clearance level, though GSA refers to it as clearance level. GSA does not issue DoD clearances because it does not create classified information.

Your clearance status

Find out your clearance status in HRLinks

  1. Click on the Navigator icon in the top right hand corner
  2. Click on “Self Service”
  3. Click on “Personal Information”
  4. Click on “Employee Security Clearance”

You can also email to check your status.

Your clearance obligations

If you hold a clearance, there are a number of standards of conduct you are expected to follow regarding:

  1. your personal conduct, such as following the need-to-know principle.
  2. self-reporting certain personal activities, like foreign travel.
  3. reporting concerns about co-workers. The Center for Development of Security Excellence’s guide details these obligations on page 15.

Clearance upgrade requests

If you are a TTS employee and need to request TS/SCI clearance:

1. Work with your supervisor to complete required documentation

2. Email all documents from Step 1 to the People Ops Team.

The People Ops Team will contact GSA HR Classification and work with HR and the Supervisor to create an updated PD. Once the PD is created, People Ops will submit the package to GSA Security and submit a PAR if applicable.

3. HR will review all items and submit to Security

4. You will receive an email asking you to update your eQIP

5. Once the eQIP is complete, security will review and send to OPM

6. When a clearance has been approved, the assigned adjudicator from the Security Office will inform you directly and provide you further instructions.

Have questions?

The Center for Development of Security Excellence’s Personnel Security page is GSA’s recommended go-to source to learn about security clearances in depth. Ask #people-ops or